Aquafarm Love

Regenerative Organic Agriculture

The Four Mushroom Categories

There are four main categories of mushrooms: saprophytic mushrooms, mycorrhizal mushrooms, parasitic mushrooms, and endophytic mushrooms. Mushrooms are divided into these categories based on the way they grow and absorb nutrients.

Saprophytic mushrooms (saprophytes) eat dead and decaying matter.
Mycorrhizal mushrooms have a symbiotic relationships with plants. They exchange nutrients with plants, in a way that benefits both the mushroom and the plants, and protect plants from disease.
Parasitic mushrooms (parasites) feed on their hosts, which can lead to the death of the host. They feed on bugs, plants, tree bark, and even humans.
Endophytic mushrooms (endophytes) are part mycorrhizal and part parasitic. They invade a plant’s tissue, but maintain a positive, symbiotic relationship with the plant.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: